top of page
Search

Simple, Monochromatic, Lush and Feminine Wedding Inspiration at Ashbourne Farms

Since having a baby, I feel a pretty consistent urge to simplify.  Maybe this is something all moms go through or maybe it’s the anxiety inducing feeling of being overwhelmed with constant decisions/media content I make/absorb on a daily basis.  My urge to simplify is much more than Marie Kondo’ing my house (although that is something on my mind occasionally too.)  Are there ways to simplify my marketing tactics (hire someone!)  or a way to simplify social media posts (hire someone!)  Is there a way to eliminate stuff from the studio so I can cut down on brick dust dusting (yea, have an isnta-sale…!)

My desire for simplicity goes beyond all of this and right to the core of my business – DESIGN.  Simplifying design is center of my artistry right now.



I don’t want to simplify because I don’t want to spend time designing.  My urge is to create impactful design without noise. I want to create intentional, meaningful statements rather than install thousands of dollars worth of design elements that in the end could be forgotten. Regarding flowers specifically, I want to use less greenery (unless in a location I can forage it) and less ingredients (*except with Dutch Masters inspo of course…) I want it to be simple, lush, warm, inviting, and feminine. I want it to feel less distracting. I want to feel less distracted.


This styled shoot I designed this past Spring at the brand new (impeccable, incredible, amazing…) Ashbourne Farms came from my evolution as a person over the last two years.  It’s the first shoot I had done since 2015.   New baby, new studio, new business partnerships, and a big release of emotions through therapy.


What you’ll see is clean lines and a monochromatic design, yet still lush and feminine.  The all white soft, feminine blooms en masse on the wooden tables in the all wooden Show Barn created a romantic, impactful visual. I used all white spray roses and sweet peas – so even the scent was intoxicating.

The stationery from this shoot was really personal to me.  We used paper I lugged across the world from Nepal for the envelope liner and place cards.  My friend, Rachel Fisher Calligraphy, blended up a bronzed ink to play off the orange petals and ivory tones.  You know I love a little pop of color among the neutrals!



The food from Ashbourne Farms is something else.  It is such an amazing compliment to the venue and the over all aesthetic of the property.  This place is a dream for events. It’s a perfect embodiment of what we stand for too – host your event in a beautiful space and use it as is.  No need to transform it, enhance it to feel more like you.  The details are everything.


This shoot is currently featured in the newest issue of Kentucky Bride Magazine.  Huge thanks to them for picking it up and sharing with brides that simplicity can be impactful, lush, and feminine and not feel completely sterile.  It’s a skill to simplify and something I am working on diligently.

Below you’ll find my favorite images by the talented Tracy Burch, who nudged and nudged me until I was ready to finally design for myself again.  I am grateful to her.


Design + Planning + Florals : Jaclyn Journey Weddings| Photography: Tracy Burch Photography | Venue + Catering: Ashbourne Farms | Hair + Makeup: Carley Randall Beauty  | Stationery: Rachel Fisher Calligraphy  | Model: My friend Grace, who was gracious enough to entertain me 🙂  | Dress: Alexandra Grecco / Alice in Ivory 


bottom of page